A really hot night at Morks Restaurant | Ping @morksrestaurant

This week has been warm in Canberra. Finally some decent weather. If only it was more humid. This week would have to be the best week I’ve ever experienced in Canberra weather-wise. We’ve had maximum temperatures in excess of 40 °C on some days and in the high 30s on others.

I can’t get over how good I’ve felt this week compared with last week when every morning I woke up feeling almost depressed.

So tonight Bron and I went to Morks for dinner. Bron was hoping they had air conditioning given the heat. Regular readers will know that Morks is one of our favourite places in Canberra. The food is always good. The service is fantastic. The Morks team, especially Benn are just so friendly. The new restaurant in Kingston is going great guns and tonight it was packed inside and outside.

We were greeted as always by Benn and his big friendly smile. We had a really great table next to the window so we could see in and out of the restaurant and have a water view.

The menu has changed a little but some of the classics are still there. I was conscious that I need to lose some weight so this week I’ve been minimising my carbohydrate intake and made choices accordingly.

For an entrée Bron asked for the zucchini fritters and I asked for Morks signature entrée, viz., the Angel Prawns.

Friday 2014-01-17-19-20-30 AEDT Angel Prawns: Six sublime, sizzling king prawns coated in a kaffir lime leaf and coconut based sauce, served in an earthenware dish

Friday 2014-01-17-19-20-30 AEDT Angel Prawns: Six sublime, sizzling king prawns coated in a
kaffir lime leaf and coconut based sauce, served in an earthenware dish

The prawns came out sizzling hot. I took the ‘hats’ off all of them so they wouldn’t over cook on the plate. They were perfectly tender and the flavours were out of this world.

For a main meal Bron asked for the Pork ribs with caramelised sweet and sour soy glaze with round beans and mustard leaves, served with jasmine rice. Sadly the ribs were off the menu tonight. So Bron then asked for Hunter’s plate which consisted of Fried spatchcock with young chilli relish, fried beef ribs with nham jeaow sauce, sticky rice. Bron shared with me some of her beef ribs. Oh boy, they were really good. I’m eating that dish next time.

I asked for one of my favourite dishes, viz., Braised pork belly with crackling, English spinach, boiled quail eggs served with five spice pork reduction, chilli and garlic relish and rice fried with basil and chili.

Friday 2014-01-17 19.43.12 AEDT Braised pork belly: Braised pork belly with crackling, English spinach, boiled quail eggs served with five spice pork reduction, chilli and garlic relish and rice fried with basil and chili

Friday 2014-01-17 19.43.12 AEDT Braised pork belly: Braised pork belly with crackling, English spinach, boiled
quail eggs served with five spice pork reduction, chilli and garlic relish and rice fried with basil and chili

This dish never disappoints. I love it. The pork is so tender. It’s not too salty some pork belly can be. The crackling is perfect and the quail eggs amazing.

If you want to try contemporary Thai food, try Morks. I know I’ll be back.

Morks can be found at 18/19 Eastlake Parade, Kingston Foreshore. The telephone number for reservations is 02 6295 0112.
Morks on Urbanspoon

Kingston map.jpg

The receipt from our meal

Please tell me what you think