Slow roasted lamb shoulder with a cauliflower and pumpkin mash

It’s starting to cool down in Canberra. That means more roast dinners consisting of a good joint of meat and some vegetables.

This weekend I also watched a couple of cooking videos via a free on-line course. The subject was knives. I love my knives. I love cutting and dissecting with knives.

My favourite knives. A Chinese cleaver, a chef's knife, a serrated bread/utility knife, my dick boning knife and a paring knife.

My favourite knives. A Chinese cleaver, a chef’s knife, a serrated bread/utility knife, my DICK boning knife and a paring knife.

Tonight I slowly roasted a shoulder of lamb. One of my favourite joints of meat. I can use the rest of the meat for lunches this week 🙂 Yummy!

Slow roasted lamb shoulder with a cauliflower and pumpkin mash

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 4 hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • Shoulder of lamb
  • Black pepper
  • Salt
  • Dried mixed herbs
  • Garlic powder
  • Cauliflower
  • Pumpkin
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Cream
  • Butter
  • Avocado

Cooking the meat

  1. It’s best if you get the meat to room temperature so that depends on the weight of the joint, the bigger it is the longer you need to leave it out
  2. Set the oven to 130 °C
  3. Pat dry the surfaces of the meat
  4. Rub in some grapeseed oil plus some dried mixed herbs, garlic powder, salt and freshly cracked pepper
  5. Rub it like you love it
  6. Put the meat on a rack that’s been placed in a roasting tray
  7. Put the meat in the oven and go do some housework, the meat will be ready in about three hours
  8. If you’re keen you can look up some websites that tell you the best internal temperature to cook the meat to
  9. Yes, you should have a meat thermometer
  10. No, I didn’t use one this time because I’ve cooked this size joint before and know that about three hours is enough to keep is cooked through and tender throughout (and nice and pink on the inside where it’s warm and moist)

Cooking the cauliflower and pumpkin mash

  1. At about the 2 hours and 30 minutes mark start preparing the mash
  2. Dice the pumpkin into approximately 2 cm ³ chucks and do the same with the cauliflower
  3. Toss in some grapeseed oil
  4. Add salt and pepper plus whatever other flavours and spices you like with your mash
  5. Allow this to stand so the flavours are absorbed
  6. When the meat is done, remove it from the oven, cover with aluminium foil and rest for 30 minutes
  7. While the meat is resting cook the vegetables in the oven
  8. After 30 minutes remove the vegetables and make sure they’re soft by using a sharp paring knife to cut in to the cauliflower, if it gives you’re good to go
  9. Mash the vegetables and add a little pouring cream and butter not because it needs it but because what can be better than adding a little cream and butter
  10. BACON people, bacon would have made this better but I’d already had bacon for breakfast and felt that the lamb and mash would be salty enough
  11. But never forget, BACON and BUTTER makes everything better
  12. I could have added cheese but I didn’t (this time)

Plating up

  1. Carve the meat by using a boning knife and dissecting out the large muscle bundles from the bone and use the natural muscle planes to keep the bundles together (your index finger is the best instrument for dissection)
  2. I love my Dick boning knife (see the blue handled knife in the image above)
  3. With a carving knife or a chef’s knife cut slices across the grain of the muscle bundles to ensure tender and succulent slices
  4. Place meat (and as much fat as you desire) on your dinner plate
  5. Spoon the mash on the plate next to the meat
  6. Get an avocado, cut it in half, make sagittal cuts about 7 mm wide across the length of the avocado
  7. Peel the skin back and try to arrange in an attractive fashion
  8. If you can’t arrange it attractively, do what I do and aim for some sort of symmetry
  9. Take the plate to your living room food photography studio
  10. Capture an image at ISO 200, with an aperture of 4.5 and a high angle (yeah I know I’m just showing off now)
  11. Enjoy eating your dinner
  12. Wash up the dishes
  13. Write a blog post which hopefully readers will find amusing and hopefully a little informative

Get the shoulder of lamb to room temperature.

Get the shoulder of lamb to room temperature.

Rub it like you love it with oil, herbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Rub it like you love it with oil, herbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Place the joint onto a rack in a roasting tray.

Place the joint onto a rack in a roasting tray.

Get the vegetables ready as the meat is finishing its cooking time. Dice the vegetables to about the same size.

Get the vegetables ready as the meat is finishing its cooking time. Dice the vegetables to about the same size.

After it's rested prepare for dissection. This is not the knife I used. I used my Dick boning knife.

After it’s rested prepare for dissection. This is not the knife I used. I used my DICK boning knife.

The other half of the avocado gets doused in lemon juice and put into the refrigerator under some cling wrap.

The other half of the avocado gets doused in lemon juice and put into the refrigerator under some cling wrap.

All plated up. Let me know what you think with a comment below.

All plated up. Let me know what you think with a comment below.

If you have any comments or questions please send me a comment in the space below.

Please like the Yummy Lummy Facebook page

Please follow me on Instagram

Please follow Yummy Lummy and Gary on Twitter.

Hope you have a great weekend and eat YUMMY

6 thoughts on “Slow roasted lamb shoulder with a cauliflower and pumpkin mash

Please tell me what you think

