A farewell lunch at @SageMint1 Sage Dining Rooms

My boss is retiring. She’s been one of the best bosses I’ve had. Today we had lunch for her at Sage Dining Rooms in the Gorman House Arts Centre in Braddon.

The restaurant is currently doing a taste testing menu to gauge customers’ opinions and thoughts on a variety of dishes the chef is experimenting with.

Sage is one of my favourite places and Bron and I have eaten there many times. I also know it’s a favourite of Tara who has blogged about her experiences.

Before anything was served our paper table cloths were stamped so that we could score five dishes out of ten with positive and negative comments.

Unfortunately because the dishes change there is no menu and I wasn’t quick enough to take in all the components of the dishes.

The first dish is tuna and a really delicate wasabi. I loved the tuna and wasabi.

The first dish is tuna and a really delicate wasabi. I loved the tuna and wasabi.

The second dish is a gnocchi with parmesan and celery hearts. The celery was fantastic. It sung out. I don't normally eat gnocchi. This was about the best I've ever eaten.

The second dish is a gnocchi with parmesan and celery hearts. The celery was fantastic. It sung out. I don’t normally eat gnocchi. This was about the best I’ve ever eaten.

The third dish was fried chicken with aubergine and glassed cabbage on a delightful black vinegar and soy paste. The chicken and the paste together was OMG tasty.

The third dish was fried chicken with aubergine and glassed cabbage on a delightful black vinegar and soy paste. The chicken and the paste together was OMG tasty.

Dish number four was a pork loin wrapped around a Cumberland sausage served with apple purée, apple jelly and an apple syrup (I think). This was amazing. The pork was pink and tender and moist and oh so delicious.

Dish number four was a pork loin wrapped around a Cumberland sausage served with apple purée, apple jelly and an apple syrup (I think). This was amazing. The pork was pink and tender and moist and oh so delicious.

Dish five and dessert was a caramelised pineapple ring on a cake (I can't remember the name sorry) with ice cream and black salt. The pineapple and cake were fantastic and the black salt gave the whole dish a lift. Loved it especially since I've been low carbohydrate and this was a real treat.

Dish five and dessert was a caramelised pineapple ring on a cake (I can’t remember the name sorry) with ice cream and black salt. The pineapple and cake were fantastic and the black salt gave the whole dish a lift. Loved it especially since I’ve been low carbohydrate and this was a real treat.

My scorecard. You can see the layout and my scores. I reckon this is a great way for a chef and restaurant owner to work out how to optimise a menu.

My scorecard. You can see the layout and my scores. I reckon this is a great way for a chef and restaurant owner to work out how to optimise a menu.

I really like Sage and will come back. If you’re a Canberra resident I highly recommend attending during the taste testing period to help shape the menu.

If you have any comments or questions please send me a comment in the space below.

Please like the Yummy Lummy Facebook page

Please follow me on Instagram

Please follow Yummy Lummy and Gary on Twitter.

Hope you have a great week and eat YUMMY

Sage Dining Rooms http://www.sagerestaurant.net.au/

Sage Restaurant on Urbanspoon

 

Google maps https://goo.gl/maps/zYwhU

11 thoughts on “A farewell lunch at @SageMint1 Sage Dining Rooms

  1. That all looks really delicious Gary – great photos. The fried chicken is especially appealing to me. Not sure if I will get to the taste and test this time but hopefully they do it again.

  2. That all looks really delicious Gary – great photos. The fried chicken is especially appealing to me. Not sure if I will get to the taste and test this time but hopefully they do it again.

  3. That gnocchi looks good but I kind of always love gnocchi 🙂 That dessert sounds and looks awesome! That is cool you got to score the dishes- how fun.

  4. I was a bit sad when I received their latest email, knowing I wouldn’t be ale to go. I’m so glad you enjoyed it Gary. Thanks for letting me participate vicariously! I’m glad to see what their new chef is up to. It all seems in a very similar vein to previous seasons.

Please tell me what you think

