A fabulous weekend in Brisbane with lots of eating out

I spent this weekend in Brisbane visiting my daughters and parents. I’ve been looking forward to this time away for quite a few weeks. It would give me a chance to celebrate Miss13’s birthday and it would be great to enjoy some warm weather in Brisbane.

One of the highlights of last week was being featured in the good food and wine guide in The Canberra Times 

This was the first visit since I started losing weight by minimising my carbohydrate intake so I had to think about what we were going to eat and keep everyone happy.

The flight to Brisbane on Friday night went pretty well and was uneventful. It was good to arrive at my parent’s place and see that Dad and Miss13 were engrossed in the footy. The Brisbane Broncos were playing the North Queensland Cowboys. My number one and two teams in the National Rugby League. The result was a win for the Broncos so I was pretty happy.

On Saturday morning after taking Miss13 and Miss16 to gymnastics training, Miss18 and I went out for breakfast. We went to a local coffee club at Westfield Chermside.

Eggs Benedict with bacon. Breakfast with Miss18 on a Saturday at the Chermside Coffee Club.

Eggs Benedict with bacon. Breakfast with Miss18 on a Saturday at the Chermside Coffee Club.

This wasn’t too bad. The yolk of one egg was nice and runny while the other was a little firm for my liking. I didn’t eat the bread.

Miss18 and I had a lovely morning at the shopping centre looking through a variety of shops and just window shopping.

flourish-31609_150

After picking up the gymnasts we headed back out to Westfield Chermside for lunch at Groove Train. This was Miss16’s suggestion.

According to the Groove Train website, “The Groove Train group is a rapidly growing collective of café/bar/restaurants located in carefully selected, prominent street and shopping centre environments. The Groove Train is a private, company owned business operation, jointly owned by Rocky Veneziano, Joseph Kolenda and John Kolenda.”

You can see the Groove Train menus on the website. Their all day menu is pretty good.

The Groove Train on Urbanspoon

After a pretty filling breakfast Miss18 elected not to eat while Miss13, Miss16 and I all chose from the all day menu.

Salt and Pepper Calamari at Groove Train. A delightful lunch with Miss18, Miss16 and Miss13. The calamari was tender, soft and delicious.

Salt and Pepper Calamari at Groove Train. A delightful lunch with Miss18, Miss16 and Miss13. The calamari was tender, soft and delicious.

Miss13 had a starter for lunch. These were pork sausages. They were very nice.

Miss13 had a starter for lunch. These were pork sausages. They were very nice.

Miss16 elected to have butter chicken. She said it was delicious and very filling.

Miss16 elected to have butter chicken. She said it was delicious and very filling.

I’d happily eat at Groove Train again. I was really impressed with the squid.

After an afternoon of more shopping I took the gymnasts to school for some gymnastics team bonding. Miss16 is the school gymnastics captain and was conducting a team bonding session which consisted of making a large banner, eating junk food and playing games. They all seemed to have a great time.

flourish-31609_150

I’d asked Mum to reserve a table at Hog’s Breath Cafe to celebrate Miss13’s birthday. We all enjoy HBC because they do steak and meals that don’t have a lot of allergens which makes it easy for Mum who has developed a lot of food intolerance problems. The kids love it there too.

I elected to have a prime rib steak and pork rib duo with vegetables. I gave my chips to Miss16 and Miss13.

For Miss13's birthday we went to Hogs Breath Cafe. I had the prime rib and pork rib duo. It was delicious.

For Miss13’s birthday we went to Hogs Breath Cafe. I had the prime rib and pork rib duo. It was delicious.

Miss16 asked for the Lemon myrtle Atlantic salmon which she said was really succulent.

Miss16 asked for the Lemon myrtle Atlantic salmon which she said was really succulent.

Hog's Breath Cafe on Urbanspoon

After the main course we went back to my parent’s place for dessert. Mum had baked Miss13 a chocolate cake with vanilla frosting.

Mum made Miss13 a chocolate cake with vanilla frosting

Mum made Miss13 a chocolate cake with vanilla frosting

flourish-31609_150

This morning we woke up early to take Miss18 to work and when I got back to my parent’s place breakfast was ready.

Mum and Dad made us a big breakfast on Sunday. bacon, sausage, eggs, tomato and mushrooms

Mum and Dad made us a big breakfast on Sunday. bacon, sausage, eggs, tomato and mushrooms

This kept me full nearly all day.

flourish-31609_150

On the flight home I received a free upgrade on QF1549 BNE to CBR and enjoyed a lovely cheese box.

The lovely cheese box on QF1549 BNE to CBR

The lovely cheese box on QF1549 BNE to CBR. Sorry about the harsh shadow. I had a window seat.

flourish-31609_150

On getting home I quickly did some shopping, did the ironing and got dinner ready.

Roast chicken and cream cheese on cos lettuce

Roast chicken and cream cheese on cos lettuce

Believe it or not this is low carbohydrate. Fresh raspberries and whipped cream. It was delicious.

Believe it or not this is low carbohydrate. Fresh raspberries and whipped cream. It was delicious.

This was tonight's moon outside my window.

This was tonight’s moon outside my window.

So that ends a great weekend. Tomorrow’s weigh in will be fascinating. Let’s hope I didn’t blow out too much 😉

[Post script update on Monday morning. I weighed in at 76.1 kg. Not too bad considering everything I did eat.]

If you have any comments or questions please send me a comment in the space below.

Please like the Yummy Lummy Facebook page

Please follow me on Instagram

Please follow Yummy Lummy and Gary on Twitter.

Hope you have a great weekend and eat YUMMY

flourish-31609_150

Groove train Google maps https://goo.gl/maps/7OfLI

Hog’s Breath Cafe Google maps https://goo.gl/maps/ZKIVo

9 thoughts on “A fabulous weekend in Brisbane with lots of eating out

  1. Pingback: Slapping my pork for good nude wonton | Yummy Lummy

Please tell me what you think

