Mezzalira Ristorante | Happier than a suckling pig in mud #bestblogs14

Last night I went to dinner with Bron and friends to Mezzalira Ristorante on London Circuit in Civic.

We’ve been there before and enjoyed the food and service.

The menu has a great selection of meat protein including oysters, salmon roe, cured meats, sardines, sea scallops, smoked eel, rabbit, venison, goat, duck, squid, prawns, lamb, beef, and suckling pig. The vegetable based dishes also look pretty awesome, so much so that I had a vegetable entrée. Who would have thought 🙂

For an entrée I had the Wood Baked Eggplant Parmigiana, House Smoked Buffalo Milk Ricotta and Basil Oil for $18.50.

A picture of the Eggplant Parmigiana

Wood Baked Eggplant Parmigiana, House Smoked Buffalo Milk Ricotta and Basil Oil

This was a delightful dish, it was delicate and full of flavours. The ricotta was smooth and creamy and went really nicely with the parmigiana.

flourish-31609_150

For a main course I couldn’t go past the Arrosto di Maialino—Wood Fired Suckling Pig and Berkshire Pork Ribs with Bitter Greens and Fennel Puree for $34.

A picture of the suckling pig

Arrosto di Maialino—Wood Fired Suckling Pig and Berkshire Pork Ribs with Bitter Greens and Fennel Puree

The suckling pig was a compact of various cuts surrounded by the most beautiful layer of tender juicy flavour filled pig flesh. The ribs were not as nice as the suckling pig but that’s only because a comparison is unfair. On its own the ribs would have been delightful.

flourish-31609_150

For dessert I thought about a sweet but given I’ve plateaued a little with my weight loss I thought I should go for a cheese platter.

FORMAGGI MISTI Selection of Imported Italian Cheeses served with Carta di Musica, Walnut, Pistachio, Muscatels and Orange Blossom Honey for $22.00 | GORGONZOLA DOLCE LATTE Piemonte, Italy Aged 3 months, strong earthy tones, leaning on the sweet and piquant. Cow’s milk blue cheese. | TALEGGIO Lombardia, Italy Cow’s milk white washed rind with white to yellow centre of smooth rich, soft cheese that is simultaneously yeasty, salty, fruity and fragrant.

A picture of the cheese platter

FORMAGGI MISTI
Selection of Imported Italian Cheeses served with Carta di Musica, Walnut, Pistachio, Muscatels and Orange Blossom Honey
GORGONZOLA DOLCE LATTE  and TALEGGIO

The cheeses were amazing, for a blue cheese the Gorgonzola wasn’t very blue. It was smooth and delicate and had the most amazing flavour. As much as I wanted to avoid carbohydrates I could not resist the honey, the grapes and the fruit paste. I love cheese so much.

flourish-31609_150

I’m sorry the photography isn’t that good. I used a compact digital point and shoot with the aperture set at f2 and an ISO >1000 so that I could keep the shutter speed around 1/60. The images are quite grainy. Next time I’ll trade off a slower shutter speed against the ISO and hope I don’t introduce blur. At least by shooting in RAW I was able to raise the exposure and fill some of the shadows in Adobe Photoshop.

I highly recommend the Mezzalira Ristorante. I know Bron and our friends enjoyed their meals and the wine too.

It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned any non-food ratings. For the rest room I score it a 4.75 out of 5. The restroom was clean and bright with good porcelain fittings. It also had Aesop hand products. The napkins were linen and ironed. They score a pass.

The only down side of the night was a parking fine I received for parking in the car park across the road on London Circuit. I arrived a little after 6 pm and assumed after that time parking would be free. I didn’t even bother looking at the signs. The ACT Government stung me for $91. Ouch.

2014-03-7 Parking Infringement envelope
If you have any comments or questions please send me a comment in the space below.

Please like the Yummy Lummy Facebook page

Please follow me on Instagram

Please follow Yummy Lummy and Gary on Twitter.

Hope you have a great weekend and eat YUMMY

flourish-31609_150

Restaurant details

Mezzalira Ristorante http://www.mezzalira.com.au/

You can download the menus here http://www.mezzalira.com.au/menu/Dinner menu | Dessert menu

Mezzalira Ristorante on Urbanspoon

To get there the Google map is at https://goo.gl/maps/U9Onl

6 thoughts on “Mezzalira Ristorante | Happier than a suckling pig in mud #bestblogs14

      • I could definitely eat sucking pig that often too. I remember as a child, when my parents owned a Chinese grocery store, my Dad (who was a butcher) would make a few Chinese roast suckling pigs every week with that number increasing significantly around CNY. He used to cut off a few bits on the inside of the pig to give to me. It’s one of my fondest childhood memories.

        • Oh my…that would be heavenly. At Christmas when I was a boy my maternal grandmother would cook fifteen chooks and I’d get the backside from each of them. Nothing finer than roasted chook bum.

Please tell me what you think

