Celebratory dinner | Super yummy boneless duck and plum sauce with a crunchy wombok salad

Thursday morning I woke up and weighed in at 75.7 kg. I’d broken the 76 kg barrier in my quest to lose weight. It’s been a bit under two months and I’ve lost about 6 kg (that’s 13.20 lb for readers in the USA, Burma and Liberia where SI has not been adopted by the people).

I decided in the morning I would celebrate the event with a treat that would not be low carbohydrate (CHO). I thought I would buy my protein and add it to a crunchy wombok salad. I decided to buy some duck from 2YUMMY in Belconnen. I’ve previously blogged about 2YUMMY and its super yummy boneless duck. I thought this duck albeit in a sugary plum sauce would be the perfect treat.

When I got home from work I telephoned 2YUMMY and placed my order. The duck doesn’t come cheaply, it’s $20.60 for a portion. I expect the cost reflects the need to only provide cuts that have been deboned. If you’re not used to Chinese style duck, you’ll find when duck is served in pieces it’s often attached to the bone with lots of skin and not much meat. At 2YUMMY you pay for meat and skin which is what I wanted.

Super yummy boneless duck and plum sauce with a crunchy wombok salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2YUMMY super yummy boneless duck
  • Wombok
  • Spring onions
  • Pecan nuts (freshly ground)
  • Fried shallots
  • Hot grapeseed oil

Method

  1. Finely chop the wombok
  2. Finely slice the spring onions
  3. Add to a mixing bowl
  4. Add the fried shallots
  5. Add the ground pecan nuts
  6. Add chili flakes
  7. Add freshly ground black pepper
  8. Mix with a spoon
  9. Add the hot oil
  10. Mix with a spoon
  11. Plate in a large bowl
  12. Arrange the slices of duck on top
  13. Photograph
  14. Eat
  15. Write blog post

Thursday 2014-02-27 18.20.06 AEDT 2YUMMY super yummy boneless duck with crunchy wombok salad

Thursday 2014-02-27 18.20.06 AEDT 2YUMMY super yummy boneless duck with crunchy wombok salad

Urbanspoon
2 Yummy BBQ Noodle House on Urbanspoon

Google+ Profile https://plus.google.com/115020362996830021895/about?gl=au&hl=en
Google maps http://goo.gl/maps/t5fds

8 thoughts on “Celebratory dinner | Super yummy boneless duck and plum sauce with a crunchy wombok salad

  1. Congratulations on your continued weight loss. Question, I’ve noticed that you have included an avocado in so many of your meals. Is it part of your diet or just that you enjoy having them as part of a meal?

    • Hi Karen, Thanks for the kind words. I love avocado and it is a weight loss food too. It’s relatively low in carbohydrates, has good fats and lots of protein.

      • Thanks, Gary. My husband is trying to lose weight by eliminating a lot of carbs from his diet. We had meatloaf and an avocado salad last night so I guess he will be happy to know it was an appropriate meal. 🙂

Please tell me what you think

