Yummy lowcarb perfect scrambled eggs breakfast

Last week I decided to take a couple of days leave. I’ve been feeling a little run down, a little low. I thought a long weekend with nothing planned would help.

What better way to start a day than with scrambled eggs made the Bill Granger way.

Yummy lowcarb perfect scrambled eggs breakfast

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 15 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 large free range eggs
  • ⅓ cup of fresh cream
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • Butter (a good knob)
  • Lamb fat
  • Lamb pieces
  • Avocado

Method

  1. The lamb fat and lamb pieces come from a slowly roasted lamb shoulder from Sunday.
  2. I melted a little lamb fat in a fry pan and then browned off some lamb pieces.
  3. In a small bowl I added the eggs and cream and whisked with the salt until just combined. It’s important not to over do it.
  4. In a hot fry pan I melted the knob of butter ensuring it didn’t start browning.
  5. Add the egg and cream mix and allow to settle for about 20 seconds.
  6. With a wooden spoon gently stir into large folds allowing the liquid mixture to come in contact with the hot pan.
  7. Allow to set for another 20 seconds before a final gentle stir and then take the pan off the heat.
  8. Allow the egg/cream mix to set and continue cooking for about half a minute and then transfer to a plate.
  9. Plate up with the lamb and some avocado.
  10. Grind a good amount of black pepper.
  11. Photograph it and then enjoy with a cup of coffee.

Because I’m trying to lose weight I’ve been using the MyFitnessPal app. Here are the quantities I used this morning.

Two large free range eggs, ⅓ cup of cream, 61 g lamb, and 85 g avocado.

Monday 2014-02-24 08.15.36 AEDT Scrambled eggs, lamb and avocado. Two large free range eggs, ⅓ cup of cream, 61 g lamb, 85 g avocado.

Monday 2014-02-24 08.15.36 AEDT Scrambled eggs, lamb and avocado. Two large free range eggs, ⅓ cup of cream, 61 g lamb, 85 g avocado.

Let me know what you think as a comment below.

I hope you’re well and eat yummy.

Images of yesterday’s slowly roasted shoulder of lamb.

Sunday 2014-02-23 17.31.51 AEDT A slowly cooked shoulder of lamb. Cooked for 3 hours at 150 °C.

Sunday 2014-02-23 17.31.51 AEDT A slowly cooked shoulder of lamb. Cooked for 3 hours at 150 °C.

Sunday 2014-02-23 17.53.51 AEDT Roast lamb and salad. The salad includes 111 g wombok, 37 g tomato, 12 g spring onion, 41 g celery, 11 g fried shallots, 78 g roasted pumpkin and 80 g of the lamb.

Sunday 2014-02-23 17.53.51 AEDT Roast lamb and salad. The salad includes 111 g wombok, 37 g tomato, 12 g spring onion, 41 g celery, 11 g fried shallots, 78 g roasted pumpkin and 80 g of the lamb.

11 thoughts on “Yummy lowcarb perfect scrambled eggs breakfast

  1. Looks lovely, lamb fat is awesome to cook with, not as good as duck or goose, but close. I’m down about 3.5kg since starting to watch what I eat after Xmas splurge, I’m not as carb strict as you though, I have dinner with carbs of some kind most nights but have reduced my portions. Feeling so much better now I’m close to my ideal weight

    • That’s excellent. I agree, duck or goose fat would be better but after cooking so much lamb it’s a crime to waste the fat. I even cooked my salmon in lamb fat tonight. Well done on the weight loss.

Please tell me what you think

