Perfect Australian steak for a #yummy #lowcarb #dinner

So I’m doing okay with the weight loss quest but the meals are becoming a little repetitive. I haven’t cooked myself a nice steak for a long time. After work I went to Coles and started looking for a steak on the bone or even a veal cutlet. I couldn’t find anything I wanted. I went for a scotch fillet steak. It was quite expensive but looked good.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 18.12.21 AEDT Australian Angus scotch fillet. It was about 400 grams and cost $16.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 18.12.21 AEDT Australian Angus scotch fillet. It was about 400 grams and cost $16.

I like using Heston Blumenthal’s method of cooking a steak. If I had time I would have let the steak sit in the refrigerator uncovered for a day or so but that wasn’t to be. The fry pan has to be smoking hot and it’s important to not use too much oil. The most important element is letting the steak rest. This fillet cost me $16 dollars so I was going to treat it like a precious possession.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 18.56.27 AEDT This is the steak after 5 minutes cooking. It will rest for 10 minutes.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 18.56.27 AEDT This is the steak after 5 minutes cooking. It will rest for 10 minutes.

The whole low carbohydrate thing is going well so I’ve chosen my vegetables accordingly. I’m sure some will say I got the ratio of meat to vegetable matter wrong, but hey this was a treat and I planned to enjoy it.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 19.02.40-1 AEDT My dinner plated up. It's important to use a decent knife.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 19.02.40-1 AEDT My dinner plated up. It’s important to use a decent knife.

I like my steak rare. I will eat medium rare but unless it’s really tender I would send back a steak that’s medium or well done.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 19.11.31-1 AEDT This is rare, just the way I like it. I nearly forgot to capture this image I was enjoying it so much.

Wednesday 2014-01-29 19.11.31-1 AEDT This is rare, just the way I like it. I nearly forgot to capture this image I was enjoying it so much.

Perfect steak for a yummy low carbohydrate dinner

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • Steak
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Cos lettuce
  • Spring onions
  • Fried shallots
  • Cucumber
  • Cherry tomatoes

Steak

  • The steak should be brought to room temperature and dried as much as possible.
  • I coat the steak in oil and some salt.
  • The frypan needs to be smoking hot.
  • I use the Heston Blumenthal technique and turn the steak every 15–20 seconds for a total cooking time of about 5 minutes. The most important part of this technique is resting the steak for around 10 minutes.
  • At the end of the cooking I liberally apply freshly cracked pepper and some finely ground chili flakes.

Salad

  • Finely shred the cos lettuce.
  • Halve the tomatoes.
  • Finely slice the spring onions.
  • Dice the cucumber.
  • Toss into a bowl and add the fried shallots (I buy a packet rather than doing it myself).
  • I use the hot oil from the frypan and add it to the salad as my meaty oily dressing.

Serve on a plate and use a proper knife.

3 thoughts on “Perfect Australian steak for a #yummy #lowcarb #dinner

  1. Pingback: #lowcarb nude burger | quick and easy | Yummy Lummy

Please tell me what you think

