So how well am I doing with my desire to lose my CNY coat?

So how well am I doing with my desire to lose my CNY coat? Not too bad. When I started I weighed in at 82 kilograms. I determined that I would start reducing my carbohydrate intake but not go into hard induction as per the Atkins way of eating. I’d leave that until mid-February when I think I’ll be in a better position.

So this morning I weighed in at 78.3 kilograms. That’s okay progress. A rapid movement is good for motivation.

So what have I been eating? Breakfast has usually been an ham steak, a fried egg, a mushroom and some avocado. I’ve been gradually reducing the quantity of ham and avocado as I get happier with the appetite suppressing qualities of the protein load. For lunch I’ve been packing a little box of meat, lettuce and cheese. The meat has usually been some lamb shoulder I roasted on the weekend and pork rasher that I also roasted and cut into thin strips. I’ll also take a little meat and cheese and put into a separate box for snacks. Dinners have focused on an animal protein and a salad based on cos lettuce, spring onion, fried shallots, tomato, roasted pumpkin and sweet potato. The animal protein has been salmon and chicken mostly but also lamb and pork.

I’ve also been drinking as much water as possible to avoid gout and keep hydrated. This has meant my sleep has been disturbed with a constant desire to empty my bladder.

There have been some challenges. I’ve been out for dinner a few times but I’ve managed what I’ve eaten to minimise carbohydrate rather than trying to avoid it altogether.

I was also sent some Atkins low carbohydrate bars in the mail after I signed up for meal planning ideas with the Atkins website. The strong message from a lot of friends on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram has been to avoid them. You can see images of my meals on my Instagram feed.

Thursday 2014-01-23 12.40.38-2 AEDT Atkins bars. I have mixed feelings about these bars. I don't want to become reliant on a sweet treat when the food cravings are satisfied with protein. They're also processed and for all I know contain gums and other things that are not nutritionally beneficial.

Thursday 2014-01-23 12.40.38-2 AEDT Atkins bars. I have mixed feelings about these bars. I don’t want to become reliant on a sweet treat when the food cravings are satisfied with protein. They’re also processed and for all I know contain gums and other things that are not nutritionally beneficial.

2014 Gary Lum Weight and Blood pressure Chart

This is some of the health data I've been keeping on myself.

This is some of the health data I’ve been keeping on myself.

So so far so good.

Don’t forget to read my Medical Disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “So how well am I doing with my desire to lose my CNY coat?

Please tell me what you think

