A depressing realisation as 2014 dawns

Happy new year everyone. I hope you had an enjoyable new year’s eve and a great start to 2014.

I went to the beach with Miss12 and Miss16. Overall it was a great day. We spent it at Kings Beach at Caloundra on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast. It brought back many memories from my high school years when we would spend every holiday there. My friends and I would swim and surf as much as we could interspersed with eating hamburgers and pizzas. My skin went black and the soles of my feet grew thick enough to walk on searing bitumen.

The best part was body surfing and swimming. I was a reasonably good swimmer at school. I also did still water life saving and water polo. For me to compete in sport required water.

The depressing realisation today came as I tried to dive under a wave and swim out the back. For about the last six months I’ve been seeing a physiotherapist for supraspinatus impingement syndrome. I have it bilaterally but much worse on the right side. I CAN’T SWIM. I can’t even dog paddle without pain.

I will double my efforts with the exercises the physiotherapist has assigned to me. I cannot bear the thought that I’ll never swim again.

I enjoyed some time on the beach

I enjoyed some time on the beach

I should have covered my legs

I should have covered my legs

I love the beach

I love the beach

We enjoyed fish, calamari, prawn cutlets, potato scallops and beer batter chips

We enjoyed fish, calamari, prawn cutlets, potato scallops and beer batter chips

After lunch we had gelato. I had a salted caramel and mint waffle cone

After lunch we had gelato. I had a salted caramel and mint waffle cone

9 thoughts on “A depressing realisation as 2014 dawns

  1. Your time by the beach sounds wonderful, Gary… being by the seaside is very therapeutic and having had pneumonia, glandular fever and a series of illnesses all year in 2013, I am now planning a quiet getaway soon.

    Sorry to hear about this syndrome you have developed. I hope it can be fixed!?

    • Thanks Liz. My physiotherapist tells me it should improve but it will take some time. I hope you have a great 2014 free of illness.

  2. I love the beach and I love to swim, I will pray for your healing because I know how important it is for my life and hope you will be able to enjoy again soon.

Please tell me what you think

