This week I chewed Camel balls

It’s true. This week I chewed camel balls. What’s funnier is that in Canberra (in Civic) there have been camels available for rides.

A work mate who lives in Kambah was shopping in her local IGA and came across camel balls in the confectionery aisle.

I didn't capture an image of the entire packet but they come individually wrapped. Note they're meant to be extra sour.

I didn’t capture an image of the entire packet but they come individually wrapped. Note they’re meant to be extra sour and liquid filled. “Chicle Camel Balls

When my friend posted an image of the packet on her Facebook timeline there were immediate responses. I asked if they came with hair attached. Apparently not.

The day she brought them into work many a very funny comment was shared.

In the end we had to dive in and have a go.

It sort of looks like a pellet of dung once it's out of the wrapper. The taste though is quite pleasant. It's not very sour. In fact I thought it was more like hubba bubba bubble gum.

It sort of looks like a pellet of dung once it’s out of the wrapper. The taste though is quite pleasant. It’s not very sour. In fact I thought it was more like hubba bubba bubble gum.

So I can now say I’ve chewed Camel Balls and blown bubbles 😉

There’s even a YouTube video about them

I’ve also eaten camel before. It was in the early 2000s in Alice Springs. That night I also ate horse, buffalo, crocodile, emu and lots of other animal species. Camel is okay, but nothing beats a piece of prime rib eye steak with the bone attached and lots of nice marbling.

I’ve also eaten calf testicles that I’d removed myself. As a kid I had a friend whose parents ran cattle on a property near Blackbutt. I remember helping with sump oiling fences and castrating and dehorning and branding and immunising calves. After learning the technique of castrating calves I discovered when I was an intern on a urology rotation that castrating humans wasn’t that different except you sewed up the ball sack at the end. I enjoyed that rotation because my bosses let me do the orchidectomies. And um no I didn’t eat the human testicles like I did the calf testicles. Calf testicles are delicious with bacon, liver, tomato, mushrooms, fried egg and toast. They make a big breakfast better.

Now I want to ask a big favour. If you’re on Facebook can you please go to YummyLummy and Like it. With a couple more likes I’ll start to receive some insight analytics. Thank you.

Have you eaten the testicles of any animal lately? Tell me about your experience. Have a good one and eat yummy 😉

Camel balls

You can buy a box of 200 on-line at http://www.theprofessors.com.au/products/camel-balls-bubble-gum-extra-sour-200-pieces-in-a-display-unit.html

4 thoughts on “This week I chewed Camel balls

Please tell me what you think

