Raw milk and why I’m not sure it’s worth the risk

I just posted this on my ‘other’ blog. It relates to a piece I recently posted on Jamie’s Italian Canberra.

Dr Lum! He's my Dad

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a piece on Yummy Lummy about a meal Bron and I shared at Jamie’s Italian Canberra. In the middle of the post I ranted a little about the use of raw milk in some cheese, viz., bocconcini. As a clinical microbiologist with an interest in food, food safety and public health I’ve always appreciated the balance between taste and desires of food advocates and the need for safety. In that regard, Australia excels when it comes to using risk management principles to minimise harm to Australians. On balance and with some exceptions, raw milk is not permitted for commercial use in Australia. You can find the regulations at FSANZ.

A couple of days ago ProMED-mail posted a piece on unpasteurised milk in the USA. The ProMED-mail piece provides food for thought and some great references to excellent articles. To…

View original post 191 more words

One thought on “Raw milk and why I’m not sure it’s worth the risk

  1. Pingback: Water’s Edge on a quiet Friday night in Canberra | Yummy Lummy

Please tell me what you think

