My first time eating Nando’s chicken

I have a friend at work who raves about Nando’s. More specifically she rates the Nando’s barbecue chicken ribs as amongst her favourite foods. Until we started having conversations about Nando’s I never knew you could buy chicken ribs. I’m not alone, according to my friend she asked a local butcher for some and was told such a cut doesn’t exist. After much protestation the butcher refused to believe. Since then another butcher, a more enlightened butcher has been found.

Bron and I wanted a quick meal and were pondering takeaway to eat by Lake Ginninderra or simply dining in house. As it turned out the evening was cooler and more windy than we anticipated. We ate in house at the Nando’s in the Westfield Belconnen.

We agreed on barbecue chicken ribs and barbecue chicken thighs with a Mediterranean salad.

Nando's BBQ chicken ribs. They tasted nice. The mild sauce was spicy and fresh. The ribs were small. I could have eaten more.

Nando’s BBQ chicken ribs. They tasted nice. The mild sauce was spicy and fresh. The ribs were small. I could have eaten more.

Nando's BBQ chicken thighs. These were tiny but nice. I could eat two or three of these dishes.

Nando’s BBQ chicken thighs. These were tiny but nice. I could eat two or three of these dishes.

All in all it wasn’t a bad meal. If I go back I may just have a couple of plates of thighs and some coleslaw. The thighs were more tender and moist than the ribs.

On the walk home we saw this.

I'm not sure Confucius said this. He may have uttered it under his breath when in a moment out of zen.

I’m not sure Confucius said this. He may have uttered it under his breath when in a moment out of zen.

A final thought for the day.

I saved this from a friend's tweet yesterday.

I saved this from a friend’s tweet yesterday. EAT MORE BACON

12 thoughts on “My first time eating Nando’s chicken

  1. Pingback: Turkish Delight, Belconnen | In The Taratory

  2. I always think of Nandos as service station food as inbetween Gold Coast and Brisvegas there are two truck/car stops that have Nandos restaurants. I used to always eat at the one at Coomera as I used to park my bus there before starting one of my runs. Their breakfast pitas are simply divine.

Please tell me what you think

