#Lunch at Ricardo’s Cafe on Labour Day

Today marks the second long weekend Monday off in two weeks. Last Monday was Family and Community Day and today is Labour Day. While I didn’t march in a parade I did go into work so I could catch up on some work. I always find it remarkable that we get a day off for labour day when I think we should celebrate it at work. Australia is blessed with good employment and more entitlements for workers than almost anywhere else in the world. Where else do you get four weeks (or more in some situations) paid recreational leave annually. Where else do you get holiday leave loading so that if you normally earn overtime, you continue to get that same amount even when you’re on annual recreational leave. We have very generous maternity and paternity leave provisions and personal leave for illness is incredibly generous. Most Australians are also very well paid compared to other countries and our welfare system ensures those who cannot work and even those who choose not to work receive some money to live on. In 2013 the cost of living is very high and few would argue that the welfare system equalises the incomes of everyone, but to be fair we do live in a free enterprise democracy with a strong welfare cushion.

I’ll stop there because I’m just so grateful to be born Australian and to have such a good job and so many opportunities.

For lunch today I had a date with Bron. We went to one of our favourite cafes, viz., Ricardo’s cafe in Jamison Plaza in Macquarie.

A super thick caramel shake

A super thick caramel shake. Best thick shakes around.

This is an open slow cooked lamb and pesto sandwich with chips. The lamb was very tender and tasty.

This is an open slow cooked lamb and pesto sandwich with chips. The lamb was very tender and tasty.

This is a magnum cheesecake. OMG this was good. Even better than the ice cream variety. Can you believe it? I can!

This is a magnum salted caramel mousse dessert. OMG this was good. Even better than the ice cream variety. Can you believe it? I can!

I love the Diptic app for putting things together.

I love the Diptic app for putting things together.

Thanks Bron for a great lunch date. Ricardo’s Cafe is a fantastic place for breakfast and lunch and everything in between.

15 thoughts on “#Lunch at Ricardo’s Cafe on Labour Day

  1. OMG I am drooling… I have such a weak spot for good fries and I just love lamb – think it might be time to trek over to the darkside for some yummy food!

    • Ah, the dark side. I have friends at work who call the North (aka right) side Mordor. I’ve always worked south lived north 🙂

      Ricardo’s is a gem in a suburban shopping centre. The food has never disappointed me.

  2. I soooo have to go to Ricardos at Jamieson Plaza. Funny that such a great cafe exists in such a little, out of the way shopping mall. You have been telling us all about Jamiesons for ages and every time you do, my mouth waters. Once I’m off this diet, look out! p.s. tell me al ittle more about the salted caramel magnum dessert? Is it home made? is it ice cream? Is it actually a magnum like one you buy from the ice cream freezer at the corner store?

Please tell me what you think

