Today I’m thinking obstetrics

From the ‘other’ blog. Happy birthday little brother

Dr Lum! He's my Dad

On this day my youngest brother was born. On this day my Mum could no longer have any more children. Mum had three sons. I’m the eldest. We were all troublesome. I was a transverse lie and the obstetrician couldn’t turn me. I had the umbilical cord wrapped around my neck. Mum needed a Caesarean section and I was 2 weeks premature. The middle brother was a grade four placenta prævia. Mum was instructed to rest for three months. She had a Caesarian section and the middle brother was a month premature. My youngest brother whose birth we celebrate today was born in an emergency Caesarian section after Mum’s uterus ruptured. Mum recalls the blood and the pain. He was ten weeks premature. Forty something years ago, that was fairly premature. Mum objects when others say she didn’t have a proper pregnancy because she didn’t experience a normal vaginal delivery…

View original post 316 more words

2 thoughts on “Today I’m thinking obstetrics

  1. Pingback: Changing Facebook pages for Yummy Lummy | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Tuesday 10 – Gary Lum “Yummy Lummy” | Notes from a Southern Kitchen

Please tell me what you think

