A day at the Canberra School of Photography

As I mentioned in a previous post I’ve been attending a physiotherapist for Supraspinatus impingement syndrome. While I was there I picked up a brochure for the Canberra School of Photography. The brochure mentioned a day course in digital photography. Digital Photography in a Day for $250.

I’ve enjoyed photography for as long as I can remember but I’ve never attended a course and I wouldn’t rate myself as competent. Mostly I use the automatic mode and hope for the best. I have friends who are photographers and am always in awe of their skills. Check out kecozaphotography

Irene Lorbergs is the proprietor of the Canberra School of Photography and is a professional photographer. Today’s course was aimed at anyone wanting to familiarise themselves with their digital camera. Today we had a small group and one participant brought along a digital point and shoot while another brought along a high end DSLR that he’d inherited.

Irene took us through some photography theory which fortunately wasn’t all about the physics of light. The theory teaching was pitched well to amateurs and included excellent tips that made the theory a lot easier to understand, especially the relationship between shutter speed, aperture size and ISO. We started with the automatic setting through the program setting and then examined the preset programs like macro, landscape, portrait and sport and understood the limitations of these modes. We then examined in a little more detail the value of shutter and aperture priority before finally spending the rest of the day in manual mode and understanding how the light meter can be used to ensure good exposure while balancing depth of field and sharpness. With one participant having a point and shoot I listened in so I can improve my technique with my little Panasonic DMC-TZ10 too.

If you’re an amateur photographer, I would highly recommend a course like this. I’m thinking of doing something a little more intense now.

Old Parliament House gardens water fountain

Old Parliament House gardens water fountain Nikon D90 Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8G ISO400, f/16 1/200

Old Parliament House gardens water fountain

Old Parliament House gardens water fountain Nikon D90 Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8G ISO400, f/4 1/3200

The upper image is fairly slow for a bright day and the aperture was closed down. The fountain stream is very fluid. The lower image is fast and with the aperture as open as I could for that ISO. It’s not a great picture but you can get a sense of greater detail in the water stream.

I learnt so much by just this simple exercise.

Tonight while capturing an image of my dinner I applied what I learnt in terms of depth of field.

Pork and chicken

Pork and chicken Nikon D90 Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8G ISO200, f/1.8 1/60

Pork and chicken

Pork and chicken Nikon D90 Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8G ISO200, f5.6 1/60

The upper image has the aperture wide open which gives a shallow depth of field while the lower image is deep leaving more of the food in focus.

If you live in Canberra and want to spend a Sunday learning something that will make you a better photographer I highly recommend Irene and the Canberra School of Photography.

Google maps http://goo.gl/RlD626

View Larger Map

4 thoughts on “A day at the Canberra School of Photography

  1. Pingback: Night Ball | Photomiser

  2. Pingback: Mecca Bah Canberra | There is something to be said for the banquet option | Yummy Lummy

  3. I did a short course, then a couple of semester long courses, and my photography improved exponentially. I really noticed by how much on my last trip overseas. It’s just about knowing a bit of technical stuff, a bit about your camera, and what genre interests you. Then read (I subscribe to ALOT of blogs) and check out other photographers, and take LOTS of photos. Can’t wait to see your new found skills in action, Gary!

Please tell me what you think

