Dark grey circular smudge in iPhone 5 camera

This afternoon I noticed when using my iPhone camera that in the left lower half there is now a circular dark grey smudge. This appears when using any camera app and appears on the images too. In the example below you can see it in the lower left of the MBP track pad. I really don’t want a smudge all over my images that I use in my blog.

I bought the iPhone 5 from JB HI-FI in January 2013 so it’s still under the one year warranty. If I take this to the Apple store in Canberra will they fix this or replace my iPhone 5 handset? [For those with a sharp eye, yes this image was captured in a ACST time zone today, I’ll be back in Canberra tomorrow].

Appreciate any help and advice from anyone, especially Australian users who have experienced this problem.

Thank you

Regards

Gary

I've used my MBP trackpad to highlight the smudge.

I’ve used my MBP trackpad to highlight the smudge.

14 thoughts on “Dark grey circular smudge in iPhone 5 camera

  1. Pingback: An update to Dark grey circular smudge in iPhone 5 camera | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: My week in Instagram | Darwin | Yummy Lummy

  3. Could it a very small grain of dust on the camera? Somewhere in my camera I have something that appears to be horseshoe shaped and clean lenses as I do, I have not been able to get rid of it…

    • I’m assuming it’s inside. I’ve used lens cleaner and a microfibre cloth on the outside. I’ve googled the problem and apparently this has happened to some iPhone 5 users.

Please tell me what you think

