My holiday inspired sandwich | watch out Reuben

I’m not very happy with Instagram and WordPress at the moment. For some reason overnight (Australian time) all my embedded Instagram images have gone and have been replaced by images from other IG users. I’m also preparing for a rental inspection this week which I found out about while I was in Vietnam. It’s raining and cold…cleaning is so much fun 🙂

For this post I have gone old school and manually added the images. How yesterday!!!

After a morning of cleaning and checking out WordPress and Instagram fora I decided on a lunch inspired by the last few days in Ho Chi Minh City. Bron was dead keen to try Bánh mì. This is basically a sandwich you can fall in love with. Wikipedia has a good description which I reckon you should read. I’ve downloaded a PDF for you Bánh mì.

I went looking for some ingredients in the local supermarket, viz., Coles. Coles has what it calls Vietnamese rolls. These are hard and thin. They’re not much like the Bánh mì baguettes we enjoyed in Ho Chi Minh City which were made with wheat and rice flour. They were thicker and softer too. I found a combination of herbs including coriander, mint, basil and watercress. I couldn’t find any pork pâté so I bought the cheaper chicken pâté (over the duck version). In terms of meat I used some duck that I’d saved from last night’s takeaway dinner. For the aioli I cheated. I ground some garlic, salt, ginger, fish sauce, palm sugar, and lime zest. To this I added some natural yoghurt rather than buy or making some mayonnaise.

I used the left over duck from last night's boneless duck and char siu laksa

I used the left over duck from last night’s boneless duck and char siu laksa

So at lunch time I cut the baguette and removed some of the bread. I put some pâté on one side and then added some duck meat. On the other side I added the aioli, the herbs, some cucumber and a little more aioli.

Pâté duck aioli herb sandwich

Pâté duck aioli herb sandwich

The final version went together nicely and I enjoyed what will rival any Reuben sandwich.

Pâté duck aioli herb sandwich

Pâté duck aioli herb sandwich

The day had already started well with Breakfast with Bron at Black Pepper.

I had some French toast with bacon and maple syrup.

French toast with bacon and maple syrup

French toast with bacon and maple syrup

Black Pepper on Urbanspoon

Black Pepper http://blackpeppercafe.com.au/

TripAdvisor http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g255057-d722380-Reviews-Black_Pepper_Cafe_Bar-Canberra_Greater_Canberra_Australian_Capital_Territory.html

UrbanSpoon http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/344/1609440/restaurant/ACT/Black-Pepper-Belconnen

Google maps http://goo.gl/maps/9C8rc

It looks like my Instagram problems have been resolved

My holiday inspired sandwich. Check out the story at http://yummylummy.com/blog #lunch

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

3 thoughts on “My holiday inspired sandwich | watch out Reuben

  1. Pingback: Vietnam flashbacks and Blu Ginger | Yummy Lummy

  2. That looks amazing! you should check out my most recent blog post – I attended a dinner party last night where everyone cooked something. It was great! Are you back now, then?

    • I loved your latest post. Yes, I arrived home to cold Canberra yesterday. I spent today cleaning for a rental inspection.
      Work tomorrow 🙂

Please tell me what you think

