2012 The year of ups and downs

It’s the end of 2012 and I’m on the Gold Coast with my daughters.

If any regular WordPress.com users know how to export site statistics so they can be published and uploaded to a blog I’d appreciate knowing. I’ve resorted to screen shots here. I’ve selected visits for the year, country of origin and most popular posts. The one post I’m most happy with is the post I wrote for the tenth anniversary of the Bali Bombings in October. The URL is http://garydavidlum.com/2012/10/12/the-2002-bali-bombings-my-experience-and-my-memories/
That post as well as the one titled A weekend in Darwin http://garydavidlum.com/2012/10/07/a-weekend-in-darwin/ were the most emotional pieces of writing I’ve done. I shed many tears around the time as well as belly laughs with friends who were around Darwin and Canberra in October 2002.

Visits this year Countries since February Best posts

I can’t really nominate a highlight for a food based post. Almost all of the entries in this blog are about food (I’m happy for people to tell me their favourite post). More lately there has been a certain monotony and in some ways that comes from the new “style” I’m using based on images uploaded to Instagram (IG). I find this a convenient method but it seems a little programmatic. For readers who use IG, if you’re happy with the quality of your image on IG, this is the quickest way to post on the blog. You also get the benefit that by clicking on the image all the likes and comments on the IG site become available to everyone. It used to take me ages to upload a series of images. I’m also using Notepad for Mac to write my text out in advance. It’s a simple txt based app with nothing fancy so it’s quick and reliable.

I know that I want to upgrade soon to an iPhone 5 for the improved camera and low light capability it has. Many posts have images captured with my iPad and those images are superior to the iPhone images. A good number of images from my apartment are captured with my Nikon D90 DSLR. Even the Instagram images are often from the Nikon D90. There is many a time when in a nice restaurant I have been heard to say, I don’t like the lighting because it won’t let me capture a good image. For me the dining experience has expanded beyond the enjoyment of the food and the company at the time to the technical aspects of capturing an image and then writing a review albeit in fairly loose terms on this blog. I’ve considered from time to time the notion of taking a more structured format to reviewing restaurants and eating houses, but that just isn’t me. I have no intention of monetising this blog and I never see myself as a writer so the need to take a more structured approach seems pointless. That said, if I received sufficient feedback to suggest a better way of writing, I’m always happy to receive criticism.

This year my work has been mostly interesting. While I can’t really say much about what I do, I have written about a recent change in position http://garydavidlum.com/2012/12/01/change-in-jobs/ and this year I have described some of my travel. This year I’ve travelled to Washington DC, Fort Detrick, Ottawa and Leesburg. Each time I’ve flown with United Airlines and I’ve blogged about the food and exciting experiences.

In June I also took a short holiday with two of my daughters to Daydream Island http://garydavidlum.com/2012/07/11/the-long-awaited-daydream-island-blog-post/ This was a reasonably popular post. I had so much fun snorkelling with my kids.

The site statistics also reveal that some topics are very popular like congee (jook) and wonton as well as belly pork.
http://garydavidlum.com/2011/07/03/comfort-food%E2%80%94jook-congee/
http://garydavidlum.com/2010/10/24/my-mums-wonton-recipe/
http://garydavidlum.com/2012/02/04/succulent-slow-roasted-pork-belly-with-crispy-crackling/

I’m hoping to dedicate more of 2013 to reviews of television programs and movies plus other places I may visit. While I may not travel as much as this year, I hope wherever I go, especially domestically in Australia to be able to describe something of my travel, especially the food enjoyed (or not as the case may be).

This year also saw me find and lose a GP. I’ve also had some investigations into my health with a range of diagnostic imagery and combined nuclear medicine scans and clinical examination. The outcome has been a greater concern on my part for my sleep, exercise and nutrition. I’m still evaluating how I feel about CPAP. I’m spending more time exercising and I hope everyone has noticed lately a greater emphasis on salads.

This has been another cold dry year in Canberra and my dry skin has suffered significantly. I will always say, I love the people of Canberra, I love the way Canberra is set out and its smallness and the fact it is a country-capital. I love every day I see kangaroos and some days I can see echidnas and wombats. There is never really bad traffic. The people are friendly and there are plenty of things to do, places to see and restaurants to eat in. The thing that I dislike about Canberra and the thing that will eventually see me leave is the weather. I can handle the cold, what I cannot stand is the dryness. Everyday I’m in pain from dry cracked skin. Whenever I get a chance to visit Brisbane or Darwin I feel better. As soon as the doors open on an aeroplane in Darwin I feel like a new man. I have a very good job, I have very good and understanding bosses, I work with really good people, many of whom I count as friends and my job gives me contacts with like minded colleagues around Australia and internationally. I’ll stay until I can’t stand the weather anymore.

There are a few elephants in the room that regular readers may ask about. They’re elephants and they’re in a room. They don’t like being talked about and they won’t be talked about.

I hope everyone who reads this post and this blog has had a good 2012. I hope that everyone has a bigger and better 2013. I hope to get more balance in my life to read more blogs and write more in my blog. I want to take some cooking lessons. I’m thinking of taking some photography lessons. I know I need to better balance my work and life. I need to better handle my interests in social media, especially twitter. My aim is to reduce my addiction to twitter, foursquare, getglue and Facebook.

Finally a shout out to some WordPress blogging friends who make my blogging experience so worthwhile.

Barb the salmon fishing queen Life in the Foothills http://salmonfishingqueen.wordpress.com/
Judy the amazing from petit4chocolatier http://petit4chocolatier.wordpress.com/
Mouse who I think is a distant relative judging by the food from live2eateat2eatblog http://l2ee2l.wordpress.com/
Stan or whatever his name is, he’s a Pom (said affectionately) from Happiness Stan Lives Here who I think was meant to be my brother http://happinessstanlives.com/

Catch you in 2013.

Gaz

3 thoughts on “2012 The year of ups and downs

  1. Pingback: Pho Viet Review 2 | The Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine | Back with Bron | My week in Instagram | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Breakfast at Elk and Pea | Yummy Lummy

  3. Thank you for your wonderful blog! I hope all your wishes come true for 2013!!

Please tell me what you think

