CPAP update and my week in Instagram

Thanks to everyone who made contact about last week’s CPAP post asking for updates as I go. Well this week was much the same as the first week. Interrupted nights and a feeling of being more tired than normal. It made the days at work long and tedious. The abrasion lesion on my occiput is healing in that I think a callous is forming.

On Tuesday night I flew to Brisbane for a Wednesday meeting. I thought about taking the machine but in the end didn’t. I was just too busy and the extra weight in a bag wasn’t something I needed to focus on with so much on my mind.

I thought for this post I’d tell a story by Instagram (Check out my profile at http://instagram.com/garydlum). I know they’re mostly food images but then what else would you expect.

If you click on the images you’ll also be able to see the Instagram comments.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Monday at lunch I had a quiche. It was a ham, cheese and shallot quiche. I like quiche and no matter what anyone says, men do eat quiche. The quiches I buy for lunch come from the Urban Bean Espresso Bar in Scarborough House and the cost $4.90 each. I enjoyed my quiche with a mug of Canadian ice wine tea.

Ham, cheese and shallot quiche

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Monday evening I had some left over beef mince with the seed mustard and XXXX Gold beer. I wrote about this last week at http://garydavidlum.com/2012/11/11/cpap-shogun-japanese-restaurant-a-burger-with-a-difference/
I was feeling pretty tired and lazy. I just made an open sandwich and used the yoghurt and Worcestershire sauce to add a little flavour to the gravy.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Tuesday I was packed for a night away and wanted something light. I chose a sausage roll and a Cascade Lemon, lime and bitters. The sausage roll costs $4.50 from the Urban Bean Espresso Bar.

Lunch

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Tuesday evening after a full on day at work I drove to the Canberra Airport and relaxed a little in the Qantas Business Lounge.

Preflight snack

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On the flight I enjoyed a salad of ocean trout on an Asian coleslaw.

Ocean trout and Asian coleslaw.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

The meal also came with a chocolate and caramel brownie. Some Instagram friends unkindly likened it to a log of faeces.

Chocolate caramel brownie

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Tuesday evening I checked into the Oaks Aurora Tower. It’s a residential apartment block which also has some hotel style apartment rooms that the Oaks group uses. This was my second stay. My first stay was earlier in the year for a work meeting. I found the room then a little grimy and things like the remote controls were sticky. It was cheap for the taxpayer so I thought I’d try again. This time I had a different room. The carpet felt dirty and the kitchen area was a little grimy. The remote controls were also sticky. I don’t think I’ll stay there again. At $130 a night it is a cheap hotel when compared to other places in the city, especially for an apartment style room with a kitchen. On Wednesday morning I woke up to this view of Brisbane.

Hello Brisbane.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

The meeting went well. It was a full day and I spoke for a good part of the meeting. My flight back to Canberra departed at about 1900 AEST and wouldn’t land until 2200 AEDT. For dinner on the flight I had a pork chop and vegetables.

Pork chop and mash

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

The Wednesday marked the 40th birthday for a work mate. We have a great culture in the branch with many of my work mates being terrific cooks. They often bring in cakes, macarons, biscuits and other sweet treats. To celebrate another work mate made a baked raspberry cheesecake. The best thing about my work mates is they remember me and kept me a slice. Of course they also had cream 🙂

There were some comments from Instagram followers asking how I’m not huge. Truth is I try not to eat too much. I try to exercise every day and when I feel myself thickening, I pull back on the intake. Over the last week or so I’ve dropped a couple of kilograms through reduced intake, stress and poor sleep.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Thursday evening I was exhausted. I wanted something simple and tasty to eat. I was craving something salty. I had some chicken thighs with skin on them and needed to cook them over a few nights. I floured the thigh with plain flour, mustard, spike and curry powder. I served them with potato gems (I think in the US you call them Tater Tots.
The chicken looked like it was fried, it was oven cooked.

The chicken looks fried but it's oven done with a little flour.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

For some years Canberra taxpayers have been investing in public art. I like public art and I reckon every city should have some nice art works for everyone to enjoy. Every morning at 0730 I take a walk from my office to get my personal mail from the post office. It looks like there will be a new installation soon. It’s a pity the surrounding buildings aren’t looking too flash at the moment.

I wonder what new piece of #publicart is being erected #igerscanberra

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On Fridays some work mates in the branch enjoy chips from the Urban Bean Espresso Bar. A small container costs $4.00. They are pretty good chips (or for my north American friends, fries). I ate Friday lunch with a friend who is about to get married. She’s been watching her diet to ensure she can fit into her dress. This week however, she decided to get in her words “sucky in” pants which sound like elasticised support underwear. She felt at liberty to eat chips which I thought was cool.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

Friday night came and I wasn’t hungry. I just had no appetite. It wasn’t really the chips, I was just exhausted and mentally wasted. I cooked a chicken thigh alone and ate that.

I've lost my appetite. Just a piece if chicken tonight.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

I decided yesterday I would clean out my home office of two year’s worth of papers that I’d been meaning to get to and file. It took a good part of the whole day to go through it all.
My lunch was a nice piece of multigrain Vienna loaf that I toasted and topped with tinned red salmon and a vine tomato.

Lunch. Multigrain Vienna bread with red salmon and tomato.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

Last night I made some coleslaw and had a chicken thigh.

Dinner. Chicken thigh and coleslaw with some bread.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

On the subject of Canberra public art, this morning on my work I captured the image of my favourite piece, viz., the Owl Statue. From the front it’s clearly an owl, from behind however, many Canberra residents have likened the phallic shape as a piece of Canberra’s pubic art.

Good morning Mr Owl. Please share your wisdom.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

Goodbye Mr Owl.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

On my walk this morning I also came across this piece of graffiti which I can relate to.

I can relate to this

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

After my walk I felt like eating some eggs and drinking a strong cup of coffee.

Breakfast. Eggs on toast.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

I spent a few hours at work this morning and again didn’t feel that hungry. Lunch was pretty boring. The rest of the tinned red salmon on toast.

Lunch. Red salmon from Aldi on toast

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

This evening I had a piece of Atlantic salmon (from Tasmania) along with some more fresh coleslaw. I cooked the salmon by placing in a fry pan and adding a lid. I cooked it on a moderately high heat for five minutes. The skin was crisp and the flesh was perfectly cooked. The coleslaw was fresh and tangy and nothing beats adding a bit of Kensington Pride mango. This was a nice cooked dinner with a tropical touch. I also added chilli flakes and a little Tabasco Sauce to the salmon to add some bite.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

This week Miss11 and Miss15 are in Geelong for the National Club Championships. Miss15 has a bad ankle and will only be doing uneven bars and beam.

_ooo000OOO000ooo_

Urban Bean Espresso Bar http://www.beanhunter.com/cafes/review/Urban-Bean-Espresso-Bar
Foursquare https://foursquare.com/v/urban-bean-espresso-bar/4da224be7aee5481e133d0fe

Scarborough House https://foursquare.com/v/scarborough-house/4bbea14182a2ef3b45c12bd2
Google Map http://goo.gl/maps/qGN6Q

Canberra Airport https://foursquare.com/v/canberra-airport-cbr/4b1896c3f964a52068d423e3
Google Map http://goo.gl/maps/MqQ4t

Qantas Business Lounge https://foursquare.com/v/qantas-business-lounge/4b889f09f964a520fd0432e3

Aurora Tower https://foursquare.com/v/aurora-tower/4b1ba1fdf964a52054fc23e3
Google Map http://goo.gl/maps/9ydtD

Oaks Hotels and Resorts http://www.oakshotelsresorts.com/

Tater Tots http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tater_Tots

Woden Wind Tunnel https://foursquare.com/v/woden-wind-tunnel/4de2bb3ac65b7a3e21223baa

Owl Statue https://foursquare.com/v/owl-statue/4dd44c5352b18e28aa120356

14 thoughts on “CPAP update and my week in Instagram

  1. Pingback: CPAP and allergic rhinitis (aka hay fever) | Dr Lum! He's my Dad

  2. Pingback: My week in Instagram | Darwin | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award and Blogger of the Year Award 2012 « Susartandfood's Blog

  4. Those chips look amazing, and I never knew cascade had so many different varieties!

    • I noticed in the supermarket recently, one supplier was starting to call them potato nuggets. I wonder when we’ll call them tater tots. I should check out Costco and see what their packaging says.

    • I hope years of packaging and heavily processed foods are behind me. That said, it is just so easy and convenient to snack and graze…
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

  5. I enjoy your weekly travels Gary! So much good food throughout. And the foods you choose look very appetizing. First things first; I love your instagram. And yum to tater tots! Haven’t had those in such a long time.

    I think it is wonderful that Canberra is displaying public art. Once it gets going, the art will probably be an excellent vision to see. Please keep us updated on that. I love street art too. So expressive. The owl statue is incredible! I love the “I didn’t think this through” graffiti! So much to that small phrase. The salmon, slaw and pineapples look beyond splendid. Sending good luck wishes to your daughters and their upcoming gymnastic event.

    Gary, please take care of yourself this week; and find some time to relax and rest.

    Sincerely,
    judy

Please tell me what you think

