Wanton Wonton Wonderfulness

The last week and a bit has been huge. On Thursday and Friday 25 and 26 October I was at Mt Macedon at a Disaster Intelligence Master Class run by the Australian Emergency Management Institute (AEMI). This was an excellent two days meeting new colleagues and networking.

On Sunday 28 October I flew back to Melbourne for another three nights stay. For the last few months I’ve been involved in the preparation for a week of meetings with international colleagues covering a week of meetings in Melbourne and Canberra. On Thursday I hosted a full day meeting with international visitors. I am so grateful to a small cadre of work mates who behind the scenes got all the logistics sorted out in quick time.

So my week has been full on and my eating has been atrocious. The only day when it approached okay was Thursday when I had some control over the food at the breaks and lunch. We served fruit platters and sandwiches with “healthful” fillings. On the other days when other agencies were in charge we enjoyed cream filled biscuits, cream filled pastries, doughnuts, cakes and slices. The lunches were also very filling.

To top off a very full and mentally stressful week I had arranged to visit my kids in Brisbane this weekend. That has meant a lot of fun and really very little time for rest and sleep. The other benefit has been a rebalance of my twitter statistics. Last week saw very little social media activity so I’ve made up for it over the weekend, especially on Twitter and Instagram.

Anyway, so here I am in Brisbane this weekend. What I had not realised was that my two younger brothers would also be in town. They were sorting some things out for my parents. To give you some context. I’m the eldest of three sons. Brother 2 is two years younger than me and Brother 3 is six years younger than me. Brother 2 is a medical practitioner based in Cairns and Brother 3 is in Brisbane’s building and construction industry.

At lunch Brother 2 sent me an iMessage asking if I wanted wonton for dinner. Earlier in the day we had discussed having dinner at Eatons Hill Hotel where Miss17 was doing work experience. They didn’t have a table so we elected to go to our tried and true Kedron-Wavell RSL. My guess is that Brother 2 and Brother 3 had a chat between themselves and cooked up a scheme, a scheme that would suit me just fine.

Brother 3 has become a master of wonton making. He has friends who ask him to make wonton for them. Brother 3 essentially follows Mum’s recipe. Brother 2 however, prefers a variation on Mum’s recipe. Brother 2 like me enjoys adding texture to our food. We’re also fans of coriander (cilantro) while Mum isn’t. Brother 2 tends to add raw finely sliced ginger and bamboo shoots to augment the crunch of the water chestnuts.

In the end we stayed with Mum’s recipe given we were eating with Mum and Dad.

While we were out Miss 17 needed to my a birthday card. I saw one that caught my eye.

Card shopping with Miss17

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

We also enjoyed a high carbohydrate lunch from a local Japanese Bakery.

Japanese bacon wrap

Lunch. Japanese bacon wrap.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

Custard platypus

Custard platypus

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

After lunch we were in need of Ice Cream so we went to Cold Rock Ice Creamery at Chermside.

Queensland nut (macadamia) and mint Freddo frog

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

I asked Miss15 to capture an image of me buying ice cream.

Buying ice cream with the kids

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

When we arrived back at my parent’s place you could smell the food preparation from the corridor.

As we entered we were confronted with a tower of wonton wrapper.

I wondered if they had bought enough. Eight packets of fifty wrappers.

I wonder if my brothers bought enough wonton wrappers? Eight packets of fifty.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

Brother 2 had bought some pork mince but it was too lean so he got some pork belly and hand minced it in the traditional family way. With two meat cleavers. This is the BEST way to mince meat. It also builds muscles and annoys neighbours and tests the sturdiness of kitchen tables.

Meat cleavers used to mince the pork belly.

The final filling. Go to my Mum’s recipe for the details.

As the team were getting into making the wonton Miss11 and Miss15 wanted to have a go.

Then the experts showed them how.

We had tray upon tray and made about 400 wonton

We have tray upon tray upon tray of wonton

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

The masters at work

The masters at work. #wonton

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

Before I drove Miss17 to work experienced she and I were given a tasting bowl at about 1500 AEST.

Miss17 is having another lunch before work experience.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

When I got back dinner was ready and this is my first serving. So much better than restaurant portions.

Amazing wonton soup.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

I also needed a second serve at about 1900 AEST.

Seconds. Yes please.

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

Did I mention the pork bones? They were fall off the bone tasty.

There were some wonton left over and my brothers and daughters have a liking for cold freshly made and cooked wonton from the refrigerator. Whenever I do it I get visions of Nigella Lawson going back to her refrigerator late at night.

Needless to say we slept well and still feel full. Mum and Dad though thought I needed a big breakfast.

Mum had been planning this for a little while. She grinned as she brought food from the refrigerator and was pretty happy when she saw my smile. She’d been to the butcher and got some lamb’s fry. As many readers know I like my offal and nice lamb’s fry is hard to come by. Mum has seasoned some flour with salt and pepper and coated the liver and then kept it in the refrigerator overnight. This morning she gently pan fried it and served it with bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs and a grilled tomato. It was delicious.

Awesome lambs fry breakfast. @DrOffal was in his element. 😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

A post shared by Gary Lum (@garydlum) on

(Instagram)

Needless to say my daughters are not great fans of offal. I pondered whether Dr Offal should post this on his blog, but figured it was better suited to this post.

A note about this post. I’ve used a new WordPress.com feature. WordPress.com users can now embed Instagram images into their blog posts. This seems to work well. If you want to comment on an image in Instagram click on the image and if it’s been inserted through instagram you’ll soon see 🙂

29 thoughts on “Wanton Wonton Wonderfulness

  1. Pingback: Slapping my pork for good nude wonton | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Cupcakes and @luke_nguyen Fat Noodle | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Pho Viet Review 2 | The Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine | Back with Bron | My week in Instagram | Yummy Lummy

  4. Pingback: Pacific Fair | Yummy Lummy

  5. Pingback: Week 50 2012 Culture Fragment | Yummy Lummy

  6. Pingback: Change in jobs | Yummy Lummy

  7. Pingback: CPAP update and my week in Instagram | Yummy Lummy

  8. These look delicious, reading about your wonton making has made me very hungry! I thought it might be a secret family recipe, but I see you have posted the recipe previously. I will try it out when I have some friends over – seems like the kind of cooking that is more fun with company!

  9. Pingback: CPAP | Shogun Japanese Restaurant | a burger with a difference | Yummy Lummy

  10. Thanks so much for the great videos. I can’t find any good Asian restaurants in my area. So I have to learn on my own and it is not easy. Luckily we have a great Asian supermarket in Bordeaux where I can find all the ingredients. You are now my official Asian cooking teacher:0)

  11. Love the birthday card and your family sounds wonderful! These wontons look incredibly delicious! They are jumping off the screen to grab one! 400, a lot of work but you make it seem easy! Watching the video almost seemed like placing ricotta cheese on boiled pasta 🙂
    One last very important entry in this post, the custard platypus! Wow!

    • The custard platypus was a very pleasant surprise. Normally when I ask my girls if they want something sweet they say no but Miss15 surprised me and said she wanted to try it. Both Miss11 and Miss15 enjoyed it. Miss17 refused because she has her school formal on Friday.

    • No we boil them. When we were younger Dad had this ritual of triple boiling. First in salted water, then in a broth and then finally before eating in broth again. We used to make them in the morning and do a first boil and then a second. Then we’d prepare for dinner. We’d always keep some aside for deep frying too. There were about 100 left for the kids to take to their place.

  12. Hi Gary
    Uncle George here. Yum, Yum. What about some for Aunty Norma and me.
    Best regards..From Ubcle George.

Please tell me what you think

