When real life and blogs fuse | Ginger cake | Lemon Marmalade

This morning after my walk I read through the blogs I follow on WordPress. One of my favourites is Spoon Feast which is written by Pamela Roberts who is a Certified Executive Chef (CEC) and Certified Culinary Educator (CCE) through the American Culinary Federation (ACF). This morning Pam had written about lemon marmalade. I wrote a comment about how I like marmalade and that lemon marmalade would be great. Later in the morning I had morning tea with Bron and she brought along some of her ginger cake. The recipe is a David Lebovitz creation. Bron’s creation was amazing. It was moist yet light and not sticky like some cakes are. The cake has a good amount of molasses in it as well as fresh ginger. To accentuate the ginger and molasses flavours the cake has black pepper. It really does work together.

Click on an image to get a higher resolution version

Bron’s awesome ginger cake

On returning to my desk I noticed that Pam had responded to my comment. In my mind I had thoughts of salmon, ginger, and lemon marmalade. I knew that Buderim Ginger made a ginger, lemon and lime marmalade and thought I could combine that with the salmon I was cooking tonight.

Buderim Ginger, lemon and lime marmalade

So tonight I pan seared some salmon and made a sauce with the ginger, lemon and lime marmalade to signify the fusion between real life and blogs. I even added some black pepper to accentuate the flavours.

Salmon with ginger, lemon and lime marmalade

Salmon with ginger, lemon and lime marmalade

7 thoughts on “When real life and blogs fuse | Ginger cake | Lemon Marmalade

  1. Pingback: THE SALMON STORY…. « Fairy Godsister's Blog

  2. I hope you don’t mind, I am going to reblog this link with Bron’s gingerbread cake. I hope others will click on it from there. It is so different with flavors. Love it!

  3. Bron’s ginger cake looks scrumptious. I love the addition of black pepper, great blend of flavors! The salmon looks delicious with the marmalade and black pepper. I would have never thought of salmon prepared that way. It works very well!

    • It did taste good. I steamed the carrots with a little honey and marmalade. I deglased the pan with a little wine and added the carrot sweetness plus a little dash of soy to make the sauce. Mmm…

Please tell me what you think

