Baked salmon and then a little ice cream

Today was a quiet one. I’ve eaten well, walked a little and spent some time thinking. I also spoke with my parents on the telephone. A pleasant quiet Sunday.

After last night’s dinner I slept in and awoke feeling a little full but not uncomfortably so. After grocery shopping and a coffee at a local café I went for a stroll along Lake Ginninderra. You can see the route here.

I’ve always thought that imitation is a valid form of flattery. I thought about Bron’s various French Toast creations and thought I’d try some. I made mine with a piece of Brioche, an egg, some milk, vanilla and sugar. I also had some blueberries and cream with maple syrup with the toast.

French toast made with Brioche, cream, maple syrup and blueberries

About mid afternoon I started feeling a little peckish and thought about a cheesy snack. I had some salami and thought a platter of salami and blue cheese would be ideal.

Salami and blue cheese

For dinner I had some Atlantic salmon in the refrigerator and some puff pastry in the freezer. Along with a sweet potato and Gruyere the decision was easy. In the sweet potato and Gruyere cheese dish I added some broccoli and green beans. In the pastry parcel I had the salmon, some cheese and a couple of asparagus spears.

A couple of friends have said I need to include images of food after the first cut. So I’ve included a shot of the pastry cracked open.

Sweet potato, beans and broccoli. An odd combination I know, but hey there are vegetables in this with cheese. CHEESE, therefore it must be good.

The salmon in puff pastry

Plated up

Cracked open, the salmon was cooked nicely and creamy.

I know I should not have but I also had ice cream for dessert.

Ice cream, cream and blueberries

It has been a good day 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Baked salmon and then a little ice cream

  1. Pingback: Salmon and weight loss | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Red meat, white meat and carbohydrates galour | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Pie again and again it was good | Yummy Lummy

  4. You can certainly see your expertise in the paintings you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

    • Knowing it’s better to under cook than over cook, I turn the heat up high and when the pastry is golden and flaky I take it out and let it rest for about 5 minutes. Maximum cooking time is about 20 minutes in a hot oven. A lot depends on the thickness of the salmon pieces as well.

  5. Pingback: I like pie | Yummy Lummy

  6. wow that salmon looked really good! so did the broccoli and sweet potato! now im hungry!

  7. You definitely had some fantastic grub here Gary. I don’t know which I’d pick first because they all look sooooo good!!! Glad to hear you had a wonderful Sunday.

  8. There are 2 food rules applicable here: 1) Cheese makes anything better, and 2) anything wrapped in pastry becomes far more delectable than if not wrapped in pastry.

Please tell me what you think

