Wonderful Wagyu rib eye (scotch) fillet

I had intended this meal for tomorrow night but I will be away for most of tomorrow and won’t be back until late. It seems so indulgent, decadent to have a Wagyu steak two nights in a row.

I had some left over vegetables in the refrigerator I didn’t want to waste. I made it look a little nicer by crumbing some bread and cheese and putting it in the oven to heat through and brown on the top.

Last night I followed a recipe, tonight I tried a variation. I heated the oven to 100 °C and put the vegetables in. After 30 minutes I heated up the stove to high and got my my saucepan and oil hazing. I had already dried the meat surfaces with paper towel and seasoned with salt and pepper. I seared one side for sixty seconds (that is, I counted to 60 slowly) and then turned and put straight into the oven. I left it there for 30 minutes and pulled it out. I put the meat on a warmed plate and covered with aluminium foil to rest for 10 minutes. I turned the grill to high and browned the top of the vegetables. The rest is history.

Rather than a long page of images, here is a slideshow to enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two nights in a row. There’s nothing wrong with that.

4 thoughts on “Wonderful Wagyu rib eye (scotch) fillet

  1. Pingback: I really work with the best people | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Wonderful Wagyu rib eye (scotch) fillet | Yummy Lummy | wagyu

Please tell me what you think

