Maestral Mediterranean and Seafood restaurant in Weston

Yesterday was a slow kind of day. We started with brunch at Black Pepper in Belconnen. This is a local café that does a good breakfast and brunch on weekends. It is very popular amongst locals and especially cyclists and walkers who exercise around Lake Ginninderra.

Bron asked for Eggs Benedict on Turkish bread and I asked for the Black Pepper big breakfast with Turkish bead. Black Pepper Menu July 2012

When our meals arrived, the Eggs Benedict were sitting on a muffin. Rather than waste time and send the dish back, I shared my Turkish bread.

Beautiful eggs Benedict

The plates were cold and the bacon was also cold. The eggs were slightly over cooked. The yolks were still soft but they weren’t really runny like we like them. Otherwise, the Eggs Benedict and Black Pepper Breakfast were very nice. As you can see I also asked for a bowl of hollandaise sauce to go with my breakfast. Along with our coffees, it was a good start to the day.

The day got better with a visit to Costco. I wanted to see the optometrist, although I didn’t realise I needed an appointment. I’ll be returning next Saturday. To compensate my disappointment we went to look at the meat section. There is a whole cold section dedicated to Australian produced Wagyu beef.

I will blog soon about cooking Wagyu beef.

The Maestral Mediterranean and Seafood restaurant is on 13 Trenerry Street in Weston. The menu is a combination of Croatian, seafood and beef. The surf and turf/reef and beef options look amazing.

We started with baby fried calamari and then went onto a Maestral seafood platter.

Baby fried calamari

The calamari was perfectly fried. It was juicy and tender.

The Maestral seafood platter. The soft shell crab was the highlight.

The platter had a combination of oysters (natural and oysters Maestral [see menu]), scampi, prawns, fish, soft shell crab and fried potatoes.

Me smiling because I love seafood platters

I would definitely go back and try other dishes on the menu. It’s a very popular restaurant. We saw a number of familiar faces and friends there last night.

After the Maestral we thought we’d enjoy dessert at Max Brenner in Belconnen. I chose the waffle with strawberries and vanilla ice cream.

Max Brenner waffle with strawberries and vanilla ice cream

And so finished a pretty good day.

11 thoughts on “Maestral Mediterranean and Seafood restaurant in Weston

  1. Pingback: What happened to Pizzazz in Kingston? Discovering Urban Pantry | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Chong Co Thai Restaurant and Max Brenner | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Seasalt Dining for Sunday breakfast | Yummy Lummy

  4. Pingback: Bambusa and my birthday dinner | Yummy Lummy

  5. Pingback: Seasalt Dining in Bruce | Yummy Lummy

  6. Pingback: Maestral and Max Brenner | Yummy Lummy

  7. Pingback: Baked salmon and then a little ice cream | Yummy Lummy

  8. Pingback: I have decided to grow my winter coat with a hamburger and ice cream | Yummy Lummy

  9. Pingback: Wonderful Wagyu rib eye (scotch) fillet | Yummy Lummy

  10. Pingback: My first Wagyu beef cooking experience | Yummy Lummy

Please tell me what you think

