My own Man v Food challenge or something I really like from New Zealand

Monday nights mean Man v Food on 7mate. I’ve only just discovered this show and some of my twitter friends watch and tweet along the way.

Tonight I went into overboard indulgence on ghastly food (well according to those close to me). The dish was centred on a 326 g can of New Zealand corned beef. This is premium quality meat and I am so happy to have found it at CostCo.

One of my favourite things from New Zealand

I used a 200 × 160 mm Pyrex dish and laid out two pieces of bread on the base to absorb all the oily flavour. I sauteed a finely chopped medium onion and three cloves of garlic in a non-stick wok. Once they softened I added a little white wine and the 326 g of corned beef. After the beef softened I added Clive of India curry powder, mixed dried herbs and some Worcestershire sauce. To this I added some coconut cream for flavour.

The topping consisted of two grated potatoes which I ‘dried’ with a salad spinner. I kept the potato water to thicken the beef. To the potato I added 100 g of Parmesan cheese plus a few crushed garlic cloves and an egg to bind it. I laid the beef on the bread and spread it out. I then added the potato and cheese topping. I grated a little more cheese on top and then popped into a moderate oven for 45 minutes.

When it came out it was nicely browned and cooked through.

Corned beef heaven

The bread did the job and soaked up all the oily goodness and a lot of flavour.

Plated up with avocado.

So this is what my plate looked like. What you didn’t see is that I polished off the entire dish in true Man v Food style. It was awesome. I fear every pore will emit garlic tomorrow. I will stay pretty much to myself except for a big meeting in the afternoon. Oops. 🙂

9 thoughts on “My own Man v Food challenge or something I really like from New Zealand

  1. Pingback: ANZAC Day post | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Corned beef sausage roll | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Chalk and cheese | Onred and Central Cafe | Canberra and Queanbeyan | Yummy Lummy

  4. Pingback: Yep @PeskyPippi and @TheBernieBrand I got whipped cream | Yummy Lummy

  5. Pingback: Seeking redemption after last night’s transgression | Yummy Lummy

    • A number of friends have shared their concerns for my health this morning. My food choices aren’t always welcomed 🙂

      I love Man v Food. It’s a great program.

Please tell me what you think

