Roast lamb and smashed potatoes

Some time ago I had the best roast lamb at a friend’s house. It was an awesome dinner party. This week I’ve eaten a good share of lamb (Australia Day dinner. Yes it’s lamb again. and Lamb cutlets with mint sauce and radish salad) and just feel the need for more. I didn’t feel the need to buy a shoulder, rather Coles had cheap lamb bones on sale which I thought would be good enough since they were ribs. Intercostal muscle is always tasty although it can be tough, so it needs long slow cooking.

Following my friend’s advice I laid down a bed of garlic and rosemary and overlaid that with lamb. On top I put in more garlic and rosemary and then covered snugly with aluminium foil. I placed the tray in a hot oven 240 °C for 30 minutes and then turned it down to 150 °C for a few hours. When it was ready I pulled the tray out and allowed the meat to cool enough for me to pick the meat from the bones and then put on my dinner plate.

These were cheap as at Coles.

There was lots of garlic. I pity friends who sit near me tomorrow.

The smashed potatoes were made by boiling a few spuds until just tender, allowing them to cool, ‘smashing’ them with your hand and then covering with salt, pepper, herbs and butter.

After boiling and smashing, in the tray.

The spuds should be boiled to just soft enough to smash with the heel of your hand.

Cover with salt, pepper and your herbs of choice. I chose oregano.

The potatoes need to be seasoned well.

Butter is also important.

As I’ve said before butter (like bacon) makes everything taste better.

The bones came out with the meat soft enough to pull away.

It is always a feeling of accomplishment when meat is cooked the way you like.

Plated up lamb and potatoes.

I should have made some gravy, but in truth it wasn’t necessary.

Poh does a nice rendition of this which can be found at the ABC website.

For alternative guidance on smashed potatoes here’s a youtube video to assist.

The images were captured with Lumix point and shoot AVCHD Lite.

13 thoughts on “Roast lamb and smashed potatoes

  1. Pingback: My weekend in food while in Brisbane | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Raan from The Cooking of India | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Food Friday and Roasted Potatoes are on the menu « …At Your Fingertips

  4. The ribs look incredible! We are not able to get lamb ribs here. As a matter of fact your photo is the first time that I have seen them! Slow roasting does the most incredible thing to tough meats, and I sometimes do pork ribs that way in the oven. I will be doing slow cooker ribs on Sunday…

  5. Your lamb and smashed pots look fab! Even if it is only breakfast time. I love how you add video into your blog, I think I may have to give that a bash. X

    • Embedding youtube is easy and fun. I like that with my iPhone I can save directly to youtube and then embed the code into the blog.

Please tell me what you think

