Pork belly. Simple and good.

I had another big day at work. I wanted something I could cook while continuing to work from home. I still have a teleconference tonight at midnight so I didn’t want to muck around a lot.

I chose a small piece of belly pork, a small sweet potato and an avocado. I turned the sweet potato into a mash with butter and Gorgonzola cheese. I scored the pork with a sharp knife and rubbed in salt, a little sugar and some pepper.

Pork belly from Coles

Pork belly from Coles

Gorgonzola and sweet potato used to make a mash.

Gorgonzola and sweet potato

This was not a low calorie meal. I do like butter.

Gorgonzola and butter

Out of the oven the pork rind was crispy.

Pork belly

Plated up with the pork on the sweet potato mash and the two halves of an avocado. I like pepper, chili flakes and Tabasco sauce.

Pork belly, sweet potato and avocado

Pork belly, sweet potato and avocado

The mash was thick and smooth and tasting like cheese. The flesh of the pork was tender and juicy and full of nice fatty flavour.

 

9 thoughts on “Pork belly. Simple and good.

  1. Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  2. Pingback: Red meat, white meat and carbohydrates galour | Yummy Lummy

  3. Pingback: Out of work early and a simple dinner | Yummy Lummy

  4. Pingback: Coming back from a week away overseas | Gary Lum's Blog and website or Yummy Lummy

  5. Pingback: Succulent Slow-Roasted Pork Belly with Crispy Crackling | Gary Lum's Blog and website or Yummy Lummy

  6. I love that your fat turned into crisp deliciousness! I am quite certain I didn’t crisp mine up correctly, may have to try yours next time!

  7. Pingback: Australia Day cheesecake | Gary Lum's Blog and website

Please tell me what you think

