LAX to SYD dinner on Vaustralia

On my flight from Los Angeles to Sydney I had what I think was the best airline meal I’ve ever had.

It started with a lovely Mexican bean soup with tomato bean and coriander salsa. Having spent some days in Mexico this week this was a nice touch. With the soup I had some nice garlic bread.

Mexican bean soup with tomato bean and coriander salsa

For the entree I had the Atlantic smoked salmon with tomato caper and herb dressing with sesame seed grissini.  It was just the perfect amount.

Atlantic smoked salmon with tomato caper and herb dressing with sesame seed grissini

For the main course I had the most amazingly tender Red wine braised beef with soft polenta roasted shallots and salsa verde. This was better than almost any fancy restaurant meal I’ve eaten.

Red wine braised beef with soft polenta roasted shallots and salsa verde

I finished the meal with three cheeses, viz., Brillat savarin triple cream from Normandy France, Foume d’Ambert Blue from Auvergne France, and Saint-Nectaire Washed rind from Auvergne France. This was accompanied with dates, almonds and crackers.

Brillat savarin triple cream from Normandy France, Foume d'Ambert Blue from Auvergne France, and Saint-Nectaire Washed rind from Auvergne France. This was accompanied with dates, almonds and crackers.

I apologise for the poor photography. These images were captured with an iPhone and its pretty ordinary flash.

I cannot recommend Vaustralia more highly. It was a fantastic flight. The cabin manager and her team were friendly, attentive and cheery the whole flight.

 

6 thoughts on “LAX to SYD dinner on Vaustralia

  1. Pingback: Flying with United Airways | Yummy Lummy

  2. Pingback: Smoked salmon for dinner | Gary Lum's Blog and website

Please tell me what you think

